Home The Novoland Universe (九州)

The Novoland Universe (九州)

What is exactly is The Novoland Universe?

In the early 2000s, when the Chinese web novel community was just starting, there was a call upon budding web novelists to create an epic fantasy universe in the likes of J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings and George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire (The Game of Thrones) series, except with more Eastern/Chinese influences. Up to that point, the fantasy genre was one that was rarely explored in Chinese literature (not counting xian xia), so it was a project that received a lot of attention in the emerging online community.

A total of seven principal authors eventually signed on for the ambitious task. Two of the novelists were already quite well known for their sci-fi novels, and Jin Hezai had emerged as a prominent web novelist. They chose the name “Novoland” for the world that they would end up creating because one of the authors, Jiang Nan, was working on a book then that he had tentatively named Novoland. The other authors liked the name and collectively agreed that this would be the name of their fantasy universe.

Novoland, as defined by its creators, consists of three continents (Northern Land, Eastern Land, and Western Land and nine provinces (九州 can be literally translated to nine provinces). The map shown below is actually a revamped one that Jiang Nan created for the purposes of the drama and is probably not recognized as canon by the other authors, but it gives you an idea of what the basic geography of the universe looks like.

*Map note: Nine Provinces of Novoland

1. Shang Zhou

2. Han Zhou

3. Ning Zhou

4. Yun Zhou

5. Zhong Zhou

6. Lan Zhou

7. Lei Zhou

8. Yuan Zhou

9. Yue Zhou

a. Huan Hai

b. Zhou Lao Hai

d. Hao Han Hai

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x